15 Comments
founding

1) They're excellent for getting your name out there when your Substack has few readers. You can really expand your audience if you write comments with substance.

2) My goal is to publish more fiction and non-fiction- albeit in places other than Substack. You can't put all your eggs in one basket.

Expand full comment
author

That's a very good use of the comment section.

Expand full comment
founding

I didn’t know the discussion posts were a thing until today. lol.

On the other hand, I’ve been brainstorming uses.

Now, my goal for my writing is to bring others a sense of peace, calmness, and enjoyment. I want people to feel better.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 6Liked by Thaddeus Thomas

Thank you for taking one for the team, Thaddeus.

Expand full comment
founding

I almost asked thus same things using “it” 2 days ago, chuckle.

The goal for my writing is to speak with early stage potential clients and colleagues about developing their emotional cadence as leaders. As well as expanding my audience so that the collective has a place to learn about their Self and the impact of their inner work has on us all as interconnected beings.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 6·edited Sep 6Liked by Thaddeus Thomas

I have never used this but it could be interesting tool.

Writing goal is to write. write and write on substack while exploring a new avenue of writing for me, poetry and finishing my second book, first novel.

Expand full comment

1) Okay, you got me. What's a discussion post? I mean, this is acting like one, but is it just a post not sent to the email list?

2) I want to connect with people who have similar interests—that's sort of a Substack community focus. I also want to build my newsletter/archive for people who might like to read/buy my eventual fiction. We all need to expand that reach beyond the Substack writers pool, but at least here we can try things out and find mutual encouragement.

Expand full comment
author

This actually went out to my email list, God bless them. It's a very brief statement meant to encourage discussion. Someone asked what it was, so I tested it out.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 6Liked by Thaddeus Thomas

1) I've never used a discussion post, but it's a tool that could be used.

2) My goal with substack is to bring attention to my work. I thought that if people saw it, they'd want to buy my books. I'm not sure how well that's working out. I've got more free subs than paying ones.

Expand full comment
founding

My goal is to find an audience and publish a few books. Within that, my hope is to influence and help the betterment of us all. Oh, and I hope to find people who have experienced some of the strange things I have. I don't know what to use discussion for and have never thought of it. Now, I am experienced with creating discussion prompts for school, but I have no idea if that is relevant here.

Expand full comment

I've never sent one myself because I'm not sure if anyone would care enough to respond, and if no one did, I'd feel bummed as I obviously sent one to have people talk back. I have seen a few others use it for writing prompts to some success.

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Thaddeus Thomas

This is my first time seeing a discussion post on Substack. My goal for my writing is to experiment with a variety of genres and find an audience for my stories

Expand full comment
founding

1. I think I would very much like to! Not really sure how to participate!

2. I want to finish my book… but I'm a horrible procrastinator and worry my work is substandard - you know, the normal things! Coming back around to the first question, I like to think that it would help me take ownership and hold me more accountable?

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 7Liked by Thaddeus Thomas

I haven’t got a clue what anything is BUT I do love a good discussion.

Expand full comment
founding

I am gonna post one in a few days. It will be detailed and, hopefully, thought provoking.

Expand full comment